Who’s On First?

Well, so far we are on track to have Nick Johnson as our starting first baseman on Opening Day. When he’s healthy, Johnson is a premier hitter in many categories. History tells us that he will not stay healthy for an entire season. I’m rooting for him, but I’m not confident. Which bring me to Dmitri Young. I have not heard anything about him since early December. I know his goal is to prove the skeptics wrong and make the team out of spring training like he did a few years ago. I’m all for it if he can get himself into baseball shape. He can’t continue to play so overweight. If muscle and joint injuries don’t bring him down, his diabetes will. I’m rooting for him to get in shape and be ready as a backup for Johnson and as a pinch hitter. We are paying him $5 million this season as well. I’d love to see him able to contribute to the team, and to help mentor Elijah Dukes again. As we all know from his recent legal troubles, Dukes needs all the guidance he can get.

Leave a Reply

